Plants as sculpture

I know that what my readers really want to know about is how to grow tomatoes. And I’ll get back to that in a couple of days. But I’m just back from California, and I have two posts to share about that trip before I get back to how to grow vegetables and eastern natives.

We spent an afternoon at the Norton Simon Museum, one of the best small museums I’ve ever seen. I had been there before, but I’d never seen the sculpture garden. It’s a gorgeous space, with varied and mature plantings and lots of dappled sun and shade, but what particularly struck me was the use of plants as sculpture. The garden is designed so that the plants’ three-dimensional forms are emphasized, and the actual sculptures blend into the plantings as just another element in a harmonious and but extremely visually interesting space. Here are a few photos that give the general idea. The sculptures aren’t exactly hidden, but they are certainly placed so that they are parts of a pleasing whole rather than focal points.

DSCN0666

DSCN0672

DSCN0683

DSCN0686

I don’t think I’ll ever be asked to design a sculpture garden, but I certainly learned a lot about using plants in a way that emphasizes their solidity and shape and forms. Fascinating.

 

Leave a Reply

