Winter food

DSCN1199

As I’ve explained, I don’t put out bird feeders, but there’s lots of food in my backyard habitat for birds and other critters. This picture shows the berries of coralberry (Symphoricarpos orbiculatus), which will remain for most of the winter. Here are also lots of seeds still on the plants, particularly on the Rudbeckias:

DSCN1169

DSCN1172

These pictures were taken within the last couple of weeks (just before and just after the snow melted). In the middle of this particularly wretched winter, native plants still provide plenty of seeds and other nutritious foods. And the leaf litter serves as shelter for moths and butterflies. I don’t clean up the garden until spring, so all of last summer’s bounty remains to help wildlife get through the winter.

I wish I could capture the bird activity with my camera. It’s continually fascinating.

Leave a Reply

