The catbirds are back

And oh, how I love them. These noisy creatures migrate south in September and don’t return until May, so they are the essence of summer to me. When I planted my miniforest, I unknowingly created a little catbird paradise. Catbirds are edge dwellers that nest in shrubs and eat fruit. When the raspberries and elderberries ripen, we watch them all day long, dive-bombing into the bushes, screeching in exultation, and flying away with the fruit. It’s better than Broadway.

Leave a Reply

