I am watching a large flock of robins

industriously sifting through the leaf litter in my minif0rest in search of food. There are so many of them, and they’re moving so rapidly, it looks like the ground is moving. More robins are arriving all the time; there are also mourning doves and squirrels and song sparrows, although they’re harder to see from 100 feet away! And as usual, there are juncos feeding in the leaf litter and on the plant stalks of the perennial garden outside my window.

I want to go outside to do some pruning, but I’m very reluctant to disturb all these creatures that rely on me for winter food (and without any feeders).

 

Leave a Reply

